Dog Grooming

Charli Saltzman

How many of you take the time to brush down your dogs? How about bathing them? Do you know how often you should bathe/groom your dog? I want to answer these questions and more today. As you probably know, keeping your dog well groomed is important. The more you groom your dog, the less piles of hair you will find all over your furniture and floor. If you take the time to brush your dog, the dog will smell better, even when he is required to go out in the rain. For me, it is important that Joba smells nice because he is always going into public places with me. I don’t want to turn people away because my dog smells bad. I don’t know about you, but I don’t always like that wet dog smell. You may find this interesting, but if you groom your dog every day, you will not have to bathe them as often. In reality, a dog should only be bathed every six to eight weeks. Too much of it can cause dry skin. If you take your dog to a pet salon to give them their bath, you will spend less money because you won’t have to take them as often. But aside from hygiene, there are other benefits to brushing your dog.

bathroom-to-a-dog-300x197While I am always petting and hugging my dog, I may not always notice his skin unless I am grooming him. When I am grooming him, I run my hand down his back, chest, head, and legs to make sure there is no unusual lump on his skin. Sometimes those bumps are easier to feel rather than see. If you groom your dog every day, you won’t miss anything, and if your dog does have an unusual lump, you will be able to get her to the vet early enough to have it examined. You can also keep track of your dog’s body weight. For me, since I can’t see if Joba is getting bigger, touching him will help me keep track and see if he is getting too skinny or becoming overweight. Not only will you keep your dog healthier by spending that time grooming him, you are also spending extra quality time with him.

I understand how it is. Life gets busy, and you always have somewhere to be. You might not have time to play with your dog on those busy days, but what about just taking a few minutes to run the brush over the fur. Even this is spending time with your dog. But what if your dog doesn’t like it.

I remember the first few days with Joba and how much he hated to be brushed. This was new for me because Errol never gave me any trouble. I tried to be gentle with him, and I tried being firm. Finally, he started to like it. Now he will stand still the whole time so I can brush him. He enjoys it now, jumping up and down when he sees me retrieve his brush. He also spends that time staring at the neighbors below while I am grooming him. Like I said, I don’t really know when and why he started to enjoy it. I guess my answer would be that it just takes time. If your dog does not like the brush, don’t force it on him. Keep trying it for short periods every day. If, at first, your dog squirms away, don’t chase after him with the brush. Let it go, and try again later. Always make sure things are positive. If your dog is nervous about it, praise her calmly and give her treats. Help her know that this is nothing to be anxious about. You could be surprised by her change of heart.

So, now that you know this, will you take the time to keep your dog healthy and clean? Sometimes all of that hair is hard to control, but grooming will help. Not only that, but it gives you a chance to spend even more time with your companion.

MORE INFORMATION

ASPCA – Dog Grooming

Humane Society – Dog Grooming

Leave a Reply

