In the Doghouse

Charli Saltzman

On Saturday, February 28, I had the fabulous opportunity to spend the afternoon at the “I Love my Dog Expo”! I have to say right now that it was not at all what I expected. When my family arrived, we were surprised to see all of those dogs. I didn’t know that it was such a big event. And wow was it fun. I don’t know about you, but any time I have the opportunity to be surrounded by dogs and puppies of all sizes, it makes me feel very happy. I have such a passion for animals. And yes, I did feel like I was in a huge doghouse. Not only was the event fun, but it was a wonderful learning experience.

First of all, I had the opportunity to learn even more about Lincoln Animal Ambassadors. Second, it was a wonderful learning experience with Joba. I may have mentioned this before, but Joba loves other dogs probably as much as I do. I was nervous about how he would react around all of the dogs. But, being the excellent dog he is, he worked very hard and was very well-behaved. While there was the occasional sniff, he didn’t get overly excited and whine like he normally does. I also saw some breeds I’d never really heard of like an Irish wolf hound. While I spent most of my time at the table for Lincoln Animal Ambassadors, I did have the opportunity to walk around.

There were organizations that I had heard of and others I had never heard of. I had been researching puppy raiser possibilities in and around Nebraska and found Domesti-PUPS. I was excited to see them at this event. There was also different pet rescue organizations such as No Kill Canine Rescue. In one area, someone was talking about behavioral training, something I am always interested in learning more about. While there was a variety of different organizations present at this event, they all had one thing in common. They love dogs.

If you have never attended this event before, I strongly recommend it. You will have the opportunity to meet other people who love dogs just as much as you do. Perhaps you will find an organization that you would love to support. And finally, just go and see all of the wonderful dogs there. If you are anything like me, you will agree that it’s fun spending time in the doghouse.

http://www.ilovemydogexpo.com/

Leave a Reply

